New Ink – Talitha Koum

This word is very special to me. One of my closest friends was in a car accident July 25th, 2016. Suffering a TBI, she remains in a minimally conscious state; resting and healing. 

 In Mark chapter 5, the leader of the local syngogue approached Jesus telling him that his daughter is dying and begging Jesus to come heal her. Jesus goes. 

When Jesus gets to the sight, messengers arrived telling them the man that his daughter was now dead and that there was no use in troubling Jesus for healing now. But Jesus overheard and told them to just have faith! When he walked inside to the child, he asked them why they were crying? 

He then told them that she is only sleeping. They mocked him, not believing. 
But Jesus “Holding her hand, he said to her, “Talitha koum,” which means “Little girl, get up!””

-‭‭Mark‬ ‭5:41‬ 

The little girl then got up and walked around. She had been healed. 
Having faith in Avery’s situation has been tough. But Jesus shows himself in too many ways for me to not believe her healing is coming!! Talitha Koum, Avery Mae. 

But, there is an underlying purpose for my tattoo. For someone who has struggled internally with anxiety and depression, I for one know somedays you feel sick. Because really, it is an illness. Some days it is hard to get out of bed and deal with life because of it weighing on us. You feel defeated. So when I look down at my arm and read the words ‘talitha koum’  I will think of my Avery. And on the days I am feeling defeated, I will see it and I will get up. Because God is urging me to get up, know that He is with me and that we will make it through. 

3 thoughts on “New Ink – Talitha Koum”

Leave a Reply

